Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

UFIT Wiki

:

Office 365 - Privacy

Privacy in the UF Cloud: Office 365 and UF Exchange


The transition of UF students from Gatorlink email to Office 365 offers new opportunities for interaction between students and UF staff & faculty, who use Microsoft Exchange. Office 365 and Exchange are highly integrated and provide a number of opportunities for improved collaboration and communication within the University community. However, this increased flexibility means it's more important than ever to consider how and with whom you're sharing your UF calendar and other information.  In this document we will discuss several areas where you should manage your information within Office365 and UF Exchange.

For the purposes of this document we will use the following terms:

Exchange: The email, calendaring, and contacts features-set available to all Faculty, Staff, and Students at UF.  For privacy issues there is little difference between users in the Office365 cloud vs. users in the on-premises UF Exchange system.  This document will treat these features as a single system referred to as "Exchange".

Lync: The collection of communication tools used by Faculty, Staff, and Students at UF.  Lync includes Instant Messaging, Presence, Video Conferencing, and other rich communication and collaboration features.

Areas of interest for Managing your Privacy in Office 365 and UF Exchange:

Calendaring

All Students, Faculty, Staff, and Employees will have a default Calendar within Exchange.  The default calendar is used to share Free/Busy information to others and where meetings requests are accepted.  This means that each individual must consider what default Calendar information they wish to share, and with whom they wish to share that information.

Default Privacy Setting:   By default everyone at UF can see your "Free/Busy Time" Calendar information.  This level of access allows others so see that you have something on your calendar, the duration of each calendar item, and the "show as" status that is set for that each event, e.g. Free, Busy, Away.  For example, someone might see that you are 'Busy' for 1 hour beginning at 2:00p.

 

All Calendar Permissions in Exchange:

Permission Level

​Result of permission (Other people can/cannot...)

None

cannot access the calendar and cannot see the owner's Free/Busy times in the Scheduling Assistant.

Free/Busy Time (Default)

can only see blocks of Free/Busy times on the calendar

cannot access event details like subject, location, participants, notes, etc.

Free/Busy Time,
Subject, Location

can see the time, subject, and location of events on the calendar.

cannot see additional details such as participants, notes, or attachments.

Reviewer

can view the details of events on your calendar, including participants, notes, and attachments.

cannot make changes to the calendar.

Contributor

can create events on the calendar.

cannot view the calendar, modify or delete any events that have been placed on the calendar.

Non-editing Author

can view the calendar and create new events, delete the events they have created

cannot modify any events once they have been have placed on the calendar, or delete events created by others.

Author

can view the calendar and can create, edit, and delete the events they created.

cannot edit or delete events created by the owner or any other authors/contributors.

Publishing Author

can view the calendar and can create, edit, and delete the events they created.  Can also create new subfolders.

cannot edit or delete events created by the owner or any other authors/contributors.

Editor

can create, read, edit, and delete all events, regardless of who created them and have full read/write access to the calendar

cannot create subfolders or change permission levels.

Publishing Editor

(Full read/write access)

can create, read, edit, and delete all events, regardless of who created them.  Can also create new subfolders.

cannot change permission levels.

Owner

can interact with the calendar as if it were their own: create, read, modify, and delete all events and files. Can also create subfolders.

can also change the permission levels that other people have for the calendar.


Table adapted from: http://www.tr.txstate.edu/get-connected/computerservices/calendar-setup/calendar-permissions.html

  



























Lync

Lync is designed to help you find people you know, check their online availability and connect with them. Lync gives you the fl​exibility to choose when and how you can be contacted and how much of your personal information can be seen by others.


Presence in Lync

Lync provides a visual representation of someone’s availability or “presence”. You can set your presence status manually or you can base it on your available calendar information; presence status is represented by a color or colored box: 

​ 

Presence Status

Description


   Available

Available

You are online and available to contact.

Busy 

Busy

You are in a Lync call or, according to your Outlook Calendar, you are in a meeting and don’t want to be interrupted.

 Do Not Disturb 

Do not disturb

You don’t want to be disturbed and will see conversation notifications only if they are sent by someone in your Workgroup.

Away 

Be right back

You are stepping away from the computer for a few moments.

Away 

Away

Your computer has been idle for a period of time (15 min. by default)

Away 

Off work

You are not working and are not available to contact

Offline 

Offline

You are not signed in. You’ll appear offline to individuals whom you have blocked from seeing your presence.

Unknown 

Unknown

Your presence is not known. Your presence might appear unknown to others who are not using Lync as their instant messaging (IM) program.

 

Privacy Relationships in Lync

Lync lets you assign your contacts one of five privacy relationships. This relationship controls that contact’s level of access to your personal and presence information. All contacts are given a default relationship of “Colleagues” when you first add them to your contact list; if you want to change that relationship, you must do it manually.

 

Information

Blocked Contacts

External Contacts

Colleagues

Workgroup

Friends and Family

Presence appears as "Offline"

X

 

 

 

 

Presence

 

X

X

X

X

Display name

X

X

X

X

X

Email address

X

X

X

X

X

Title

 

X

X

X

X

Picture

 

X

X

X

X

Work phone

 

 

X

X

X

Mobile phone

 

 

 

X

X

Home phone

 

 

 

 

X

Other phone

 

 

 

 

X

Company

 

X

X

X

X

Office

 

 

X

X

X

Work address

 

 

X

X

X

SharePoint site

 

 

X

X

X

Meeting location

 

 

 

X

 

Meeting subject

 

 

 

X

 

Free/Busy

 

 

X

X

X

Working hours

 

 

X

X

X

Endpoint location

 

 

 

X

X

Notes (out of office note)

 

 

X

X

X

Notes (personal)

 

 

X

X

X

Last active

 

 

 

X

X


Table adapted from: http://kb.iu.edu/data/bbcv.html

​​

 
 Last modified at 11/16/2014 7:32 PM by Gasper, Joe